Homepage / The Melody of Silence
Coverabbildung von "Der Klang der Stille"

Philipp Jordan Haide Tenner - The Melody of Silence

The musical journey of famous conductor Philippe Jordan. An engaging and compelling insight into his life and work.

The new musical director of Vienna State Opera is one of the most sought-after conductors of his generation. He is engaged at the best opera houses, the most important festivals and at famous concert halls all over the world – his career progression reads like one long success story. But the Swiss conductor also speaks of the difficulties of starting out, the obstacles that had to be overcome and the important encounters, disappointments and moments of joy along the way. Based on her numerous conversations with Philippe Jordan, journalist Haide Tenner documents the conductor’s personal relationship to music and his work, and his gripping life story to date.

Book details

Mit zahlreichen Abbildungen.
256 pages
format:140 x 215
ISBN: 9783701734634
Release date: 25.08.2020

License rights

  • World rights available
License requests

Product details

Philipp Jordan

born 1974 in Zurich, Jordan began his career at Theatre Ulm. This was followed by tenures at the Berlin State Opera and as chief conductor at Graz Opera House. He became musical director of the Paris Opera at 36 and was chief conductor at Vienna Symphony Orchestra for six years. A favourite with Viennese audiences, he is now set to take the reins at Vienna State Opera, together with new director Bogdan Rošcic. Published by Residenz Verlag: "Der Klang der Stille".

Haide Tenner

born in Vienna in 1947, Tenner studied musicology, dramatics and art history in Vienna. From 1972 she worked for the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation ORF, where her roles included head of music desk at Ö1 and coordinator of classical music in all sections of ORF. Since 2003, she is also director of the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra. A cultural manager as well as a journalist, she oversees the artists’ talks at Vienna Burgtheater, is a university council member and president of the Wiener Meisterkurse. Most recently published by Residenz Verlag (ed.): "Ich möchte so lange leben, als ich ihnen dankbar sein kann. Alma Mahler - Arnold Schönberg. Der Briefwechsel." (2012), "Philippe Jordan. Der Klang der Stille" (2020).

More Books

Coverabbildung von "I would like to live as long as I can be grateful to you"

Haide Tenner (Edited by) - I would like to live as long as I can be grateful to you

Alma Mahler - Arnold Schönberg. The correspondence

Alma Mahler-Werfel was the epitome of a creative muse and a tantalizing femme fatale. She was married to composer Gustav Mahler, architect Walter Gropius, writer Franz Werfel and the lover of painter Oskar Kokoschka, while her seductiveness also gained her influence far into the spheres of church and politics. Her correspondence with Arnold Schönberg, however, shows a new side of her strong personality. It is now available for the first time. Haide Tenner compiled a selection of letters from the more than 40 years of this special relationship. They show Alma Mahler the sponsor, patron and fighter for the ones she believed in, and they tell the story of a sometimes problematic friendship, of wounded pride on both parts, of loneliness and mutual appreciation in their shared exile. An insightful testimony, the impressive legacy of a friendship spanning half a century.

You might also be interested in

Coverabbildung von "Nikolaus Harnoncourt. On the Thoughts of the Heart."

Monika Mertl - Nikolaus Harnoncourt. On the Thoughts of the Heart.

A biography.

A highly successful biography, this book by the Viennese music journalist and author Monika Mertl presents the personality, artistic intentions and unconventional development of Nikolaus Harnoncourt, the famous Austrian conductor, from cellist to conductor, from ancient music specialist to universalist with a distinctive image. More than 15.000 copies of the original German edition, published in autumn 1999, have already been sold. Beyond the conventional biography, Mertl’s book is an invitation to meet the man behind the brilliant facade of artistic success, to reflect on music as well as on questions of partnership, family, religion, philosophy and humanity.

Coverabbildung von "Mein Beethoven"

Rudolf Buchbinder - My Beethoven

Living with the Master

Beethoven’s music has been part of Rudolf Buchbinder’s life since his childhood. He has played nearly fifty cyclical concerts of all thirty-two piano sonatas, and performed the piano concertos with all major orchestras and conductors, as well as conducting himself. This wealth of experience has found its way into his book, in which Beethoven’s piano works are used as stations on a journey through the composer’s life and oeuvre. Describing his own life in music, Buchbinder the performer brings Beethoven’s world to life, reflected in his personal experiences and revelations – Beethoven’s era, his emotions, passions, triumphs and defeats.

Coverabbildung von "Wir sind eine Entdeckergemeinschaft"

Alice Harnoncourt (Edited by) Nikolaus Harnoncourt - We are a fellowship of explorers

Notes on the inception of the Concentus Musicus

Nikolaus Harnoncourt devoted himself to the study of early music, the way it is played and the sound of period instruments from an early age. In 1953 he founded the famous Concentus Musicus with his wife Alice and other musicians. This was to provide a forum for his work on period instruments and the historic performance practice of renaissance and baroque music. It was not until four years later that the Concentus Musicus first performed in public. Alice Harnoncourt has brought together the unpublished diary entries and notes of her husband, which recount his explorations on the trail of early musical sounds. It is a fascinating and entertaining journey, during which Harnoncourt had to accomplish much to listen his way towards the original period sound.