Homepage / Roman Marchel
Roman Marchel

Roman Marchel

born 1974 in Graz, study of literature in Vienna and Paris, lives in Vienna. Publication of short stories and poems in magazines and anthologies. He was awarded the Siemens-Literaturpreis 2004 and the Theodor-Körner-Förderungspreis 2006.

Books

Coverabbildung von "We have been there"

Roman Marchel - We have been there

Every week Hindenburg’s airship and its crew are burnt to crisps in grandmother’s pantry, while a shark fishing boat rolls at sea in the old tool shed and a fire hydrant turns into a red-eared, lovesick alien. Softly, seriously and without getting stuck in nostalgia, Roman Marchel revives the magic and implacability of life from our childhood and teenage years. His stories are never idyllic: like soap bubbles the children’s worlds are shields against grown-up life. But they are also susceptible to danger, deadly risks and destruction, which can have life-long consequences.

Coverabbildung von "Kickboxing with Lu"

Roman Marchel - Kickboxing with Lu

“So, no sex, no god, no dreams” – otherwise Lu will talk about anything. She tells her parents that she’s going to kickboxing camp for two weeks. Actually, she has decided to take some time off and rents a room in a Bed and Breakfast called “Zur schönen Gegenwart” (the beautiful now). Lu is 16 and she doesn’t have a story, not a real one, not yet. But she can talk like others breathe. In the B’n’B she meets Tulpe Valentin, an old author who has written eight novels, but finished the last one years ago. She thinks she has left her life behind along with her writing. The time off that Valentin and her ill B’n’B neighbor are taking is more like waiting for the right moment to give up. “A punch hurts less if you see it coming.” But then Lu comes along and starts talking and Valentin listens and writes it all down – it’s her last novel, because she sees life right in front of her. It’s not her own, but another life is continuing.

Home / Autoren / Roman Marchel
Roman Marchel

Roman Marchel

geboren 1974 in Graz, Studium der Literaturwissenschaft in Wien und Paris, lebt im südlichen Waldviertel. Erzählungen und Gedichte in Zeitschriften und Anthologien. Siemens-Literaturpreis 2004, Theodor-Körner-Förderungspreis 2006. Zuletzt erschienen: "Wir waren da" (2013).

Bücher

Wir waren da

Roman Marchel - Wir waren da

Erzählungen

Der Zeppelin Hindenburg und seine Mannschaft verbrennen allwöchentlich in Großmutters Speisekammer, das Haifangschiff schlingert auf hoher See im alten Geräteschuppen, ein Hydrant mit roten Ohren wird zum verliebten Außerirdischen. Zärtlich, ernsthaft und ohne jede Nostalgie gelingt es Roman Marchel in seinen Erzählungen, den Zauber und die Unerbittlichkeit jener Vorstellungswelten zu erschließen, die der Kindheit und Jugend vorbehalten sind. Doch entwirft er keine Idyllen: Zwar schützen die Kindheitswelten wie „Blubberblasen“ vor den Anschlägen der Erwachsenen, sie sind jedoch gleichzeitig offen für Bedrohung, tödliche Gefahr und für Zerstörungen, die ein Leben lang fortwirken können.

Kickboxen mit Lu

Roman Marchel - Kickboxen mit Lu

„Also, kein Sex, kein Gott, keine Träume“, sonst redet Lu über alles. Den Eltern erzählt sie, sie fahre in ein Trainingscamp, zwei Wochen Kickboxen. Stattdessen nimmt sie sich eine Auszeit, mietet sich ein in der Pension „Zur schönen Gegenwart“. Lu ist 16, Geschichte hat sie noch keine, keine richtige, aber reden kann sie, wie andere atmen. In der Pension trifft sie auf Tulpe Valentin, eine alte Schriftstellerin, acht Romane hat sie geschrieben, der letzte ist lange her. Sie glaubt, sie hätte ihr Leben hinter sich und auch das Schreiben. Die Auszeit, die sie und ihr kranker Pensionsnachbar sich nehmen, ist ein Warten auf den richtigen Moment aufzugeben. „Ein Treffer, den man kommen sieht, tut weniger weh.“ Aber dann kommt Lu und redet, und Tulpe Valentin hört zu und schreibt auf, ihren letzten Roman, weil sie erkennt, dass sie hier das Leben vor sich hat – ein anderes Leben, das weitergeht.

Seite drucken