Homepage / Elisabeth Klar
Elisabeth Klar

Elisabeth Klar

born 1986 in Vienna, studied comparative literature and transcultural communication. She works in software development and runs literature workshops for children and young adults. Klar has been awarded numerous prizes and was a finalist in the FM4 competition Wortlaut (2013). Her acclaimed debut novel Wie im Wald was accorded the City of Vienna Sponsorship Award and was included in the Rauris Literary Prize 2015 shortlist. Her second novel, “Wasser atmen”, was published in 2017. Most recently published: “Wasser atmen” (2017) and “Heavenwards” (2020). 

all events

Books

Coverabbildung von ""

Elisabeth Klar - Heavenwards

Everyone senses it – the space for those who think differently, act differently and love differently is shrinking once more, the threat is increasing. But for now the Heavenwards still exists. Its glitzy stage is the home of the drag queens and a refuge for outsiders and night birds. Tucked out of sight, the bar is the only place where even Sylvia feels safe. As a young vixen on the run, Sylvia plucked a human skin from a clothes line and has lived as a woman among people ever since. She shares her live with Jonathan, a dreamer and self-professed world saviour. When a feathered tumour grows on Jonathan's back and his transformation begins, it becomes clear that not everything with wings can fly. But the utopia of the Heavenwards will always be worth fighting for.

Coverabbildung von "Breathing water"

Elisabeth Klar - Breathing water

Spending a year in Antarctica and enduring the polar night in a research station takes stamina and determination. That is what Erika appears to have: a renowned bioacoustics specialist, she listens to whales, goes on long dives and challenges herself by practising aikido. Barely anyone knows that she does all of this in order to fight back a paralysing fear, the fear of a world that threatens to overwhelm her. Then musicologist Judith, a young woman full of contradictions, appears in her circle of friends. As the two women grow close, Erika suspects that Judith has given in to the same force that Erika is battling against. Perhaps she went crazy, or then again, perhaps she found a counter-spell and saved herself...

Coverabbildung von "In the Woods"

Elisabeth Klar - In the Woods

Karin lives with her boyfriend Alexander in a house by the woods. Her foster-sister Lisa once lived there too, along with her parents August and Inge, sister Margarethe and brother Peter. Back then Karin and Lisa were happy; they grew as fast as the brambles, dived to the bottom of the lake hand in hand, and hid in the tiny caves formed by tree roots. Then something happened; August died and the foster child was banished. Years later Karin fetches Lisa back, and the two women become entangled in a game as destructive as it is seductive, sucked into a whirlpool of addiction, attraction and repulsion which holds us enthralled till the final page.

Home / Autoren / Elisabeth Klar
Elisabeth Klar

Elisabeth Klar

geboren 1986 in Wien, Studium der Vergleichenden Literaturwissenschaft und Transkulturellen Kommunikation. Sie arbeitet in der Softwareentwicklung und leitet Literaturworkshops für Kinder und Jugendliche. Elisabeth Klar hat zahlreiche Preise erhalten, u. a. war sie Finalistin des FM4-Wettbewerbs Wortlaut (2013). Ihr gefeiertes Debüt „Wie im Wald“ erhielt den Förderpreis der Stadt Wien und stand auf der Shortlist des Rauriser Literaturpreises 2015, 2017 erschien ihr zweiter Roman „Wasser atmen“. Zuletzt erschienen: „Wasser atmen“ (2017) und „Himmelwärts“ (2020).

Bücher

Coverabbildung von ""

Elisabeth Klar - Himmelwärts

Wir alle spüren es: Der Raum für die, die anders denken, anders aussehen und anders lieben, wird wieder enger, die Bedrohung größer. Noch gibt es das „Himmelwärts", die glitzernde Bühne der Dragqueens, der Zufluchtsort der Außenseiter und Nachtgestalten. Die gut versteckte Bar ist der einzige Ort, an dem sogar Sylvia sich sicher fühlt. Denn seit Sylvia, das Füchslein, auf der Flucht eine Menschenhaut von der Wäscheleine gerissen hat, lebt sie als Frau unter den Menschen, zusammen mit Jonathan, dem Träumer, dem Weltenretter. Doch als Jonathan ein gefiederter Tumor aus dem Rücken wächst und seine Verwandlung beginnt, wird klar: Nicht alles, was Flügel hat, fliegt, doch für die Utopie des „Himmelwärts“ lohnt es sich allemal zu kämpfen.

Coverabbildung von "Wasser atmen"

Elisabeth Klar - Wasser atmen

Wer ein Jahr in der Antarktis verbringt und die Polarnacht in einer Forschungsstation erträgt, muss Ausdauer und Entschlossenheit haben. So eine scheint Erika zu sein: Die renommierte Bioakustikerin lauscht den Walen, geht auf lange Tauchgänge, sucht beim Aikido die Herausforderung. Kaum jemand weiß, dass sie das alles tut, um eine lähmende Angst zu bekämpfen, die Angst vor einer Welt, die sie zu überwältigen droht. Und dann taucht die Musikwissenschaftlerin Judith, eine junge Frau voller Widersprüche, in Erikas Freundeskreis auf. Als die beiden sich annähern, ahnt Erika: Judith hat sich von jener Macht, gegen die Erika ankämpft, überschwemmen lassen. Vielleicht ist sie verrückt geworden, vielleicht hat sie aber auch einen Gegenzauber gefunden und sich gerettet …

Coverabbildung von "Wie im Wald"

Elisabeth Klar - Wie im Wald

Karin lebt mit ihrem Freund Alexander in dem Haus am Waldrand. Auch ihre Pflegeschwester Lisa hat da früher gelebt, ebenso wie die Eltern August und Inge, die Geschwister Margarethe und Peter. Damals waren Karin und Lisa glücklich, sie sind gewachsen wie wilde Brombeersträucher, sind Hand in Hand zum Grund des Sees getaucht und haben sich in engen Wurzelhöhlen versteckt. Dann ist etwas geschehen, August ist tot und das Pflegekind wurde verstoßen. Jahre später holt Karin Lisa zurück und die beiden verstricken sich in ein ebenso verstörendes wie betörendes Spiel, sie geraten in einen Sog von Abhängigkeit, Anziehung und Abstoßung, der uns bis zur letzten Seite in seinen Bann schlägt.