Homepage / Martin Lechner
Martin Lechner

Martin Lechner

Born in 1974, Lechner studied philosophy and literature at the University of Potsdam. He has been published in literary magazines such as “Bella triste”, “manuskripte” and “Edit” since 2005. His celebrated debut novel “Kleine Kassa” (Petty Cash) was longlisted for the German Book Prize 2014, his short story collection “Nach fünfhundertzwanzig Weltmeertagen” (After five-hundred and twenty days of sea) (2016) was shortlisted for the Clemens Brentano prize 2017. Lechner currently lives in Berlin and received funding for his work on “Der Irrweg” (Astray) from the Senate of Berlin.

Books

Coverabbildung von "Der Irrweg"

Martin Lechner - Astray

Powerfully eloquent, funny and expressive, the novel tells of Lars, a school drop-out who evades military service in favour of community service in the workshops of a psychiatric hospital. There, Lars finds refuge from his mother, whose abusiveness is worse than that of any raging patient. This is also where Lars meets Hanna, a patient who swiftly gets him tangled up in all manner of delightful scuffles, but whose radical attitude soon takes on a threatening scale. Was it her who torched the workshop leader’s car? How long before the flames of their passion also devour Lars’ fragile attempts to find his place in the world? And can those who’ve gone astray ever find their way back to an orderly life?

Coverabbildung von "After five-hundred and twenty days of sea"

Martin Lechner - After five-hundred and twenty days of sea

Lechner's stories collide like waves. They pass on words, images, or moods, flow into one another and yet, remain self-contained. They are uncanny and high-spirited and tell us about desperate lakes and knees to fall in love with. They are about films we vaguely remember and brightly lit cities, silently bursting bubbles of blood and summers long brushed aside. They are all at home in a language where something new and unexpected awaits behind each turn. Lechner achieves this feat with humor, the absurd and sentences that give us a touch of the ungraspable.

Coverabbildung von "Petty Cash"

Martin Lechner - Petty Cash

Apprentice Georg Rohrs isn't the sharpest tool in the box. But he has a dream: he wants to be the elevator boy in a seaside hotel, wants to escape on the night train with his first love Marlies and escape the confinement of his life at home. When Georg happens upon a dead body and accidentally steals his boss's suitcase full of dirty cash, his life begins to unravel: within a single weekend Georg loses his job, his apartment, his parents, his friends, his money, his love and maybe a piece of his sanity – and yet, at the end of this neck-breaking tour-de-force, an unknown sense of freedom awaits him... Martin Lechner's fast-paced debut novel is a whirlwind adventure where provincial comedy meets literary genius. Nominated for the German Book Prize 2014 (Longlist)

Home / Autor*innen / Martin Lechner
Martin Lechner

Martin Lechner

geboren 1974, Studium der Philosophie und Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Potsdam. Seit 2005 zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen in Literaturzeitschriften wie „Bella triste“, „manuskripte“ und „Edit“. Martin Lechner lebt in Berlin. Sein gefeierter erster Roman „Kleine Kassa“ stand auf der Longlist des Deutschen Buchpreis 2014, sein Erzählband „Nach fünfhundertzwanzig Weltmeertagen“ (2016) auf der Shortlist für den Clemens Brentano-Preis 2017. Die Arbeit an „Der Irrweg“ wurde mit einem Stipendium des Berliner Senats gefördert.

Bücher

Coverabbildung von "Der Irrweg"

Martin Lechner - Der Irrweg

Sprachgewaltig, komisch und ausdrucksstark erzählt Martin Lechner die Geschichte von Lars, einem Schulabbrecher, der seinen Zivildienst in den Werkstätten einer Psychiatrie ableistet. Nur im „Brockwinkel“ findet Lars Zuflucht vor seiner Mutter, deren Übergriffe schlimmer sind als jeder tobende Patient. Hier begegnet Lars auch der Insassin Hanna, die ihn aus dem Nichts in die herrlichsten Handgreiflichkeiten verwickelt, deren Kompromisslosigkeit jedoch bald bedrohliche Ausmaße annimmt. Ist sie es, die das Auto des Werkstättenleiters abgefackelt hat? Und werden die Flammen ihrer Amour fou bald auch den durchs Leben stolpernden Lars verbrennen? Und kann, wer auf dem Irrweg ist, je zurückfinden in ein geordnetes Leben?

Coverabbildung von "Nach fünfhundertzwanzig Weltmeertagen"

Martin Lechner - Nach fünfhundertzwanzig Weltmeertagen

Wie Wellen sind diese Erzählungen zusammengefügt. Sie reichen sich Worte, Bilder oder Stimmungen weiter, fließen ineinander und stehen doch für sich. Es sind ebenso heimliche wie übermütige Texte. Sie handeln von verzweifelten Seen und Knien zum Verlieben, von dunkel erinnerten Filmen und blitzhaft erhellten Städten, von lautlos zerplatzenden Blut- blasen und längst verwischten Sommern. Sie alle sind in jenen Sprachregionen unterwegs, wo hinter jeder Ecke Neues und Unerwartetes lauert. Das geschieht mit Witz genauso wie mit Absurdität und immer mit Sätzen, die greifbar machen, was sich anders nicht begreifen lässt.

Coverabbildung von "Kleine Kassa"

Martin Lechner - Kleine Kassa

Der Schlaueste ist Lehrling Georg Röhrs nicht. Doch er hat einen Traum: Liftboy in einem Hotel am Meer will er werden, mit seiner verschwundenen Jugendliebe Marlies den Nachtzug nehmen und aus der heimatlichen Enge fliehen. Als Georg über eine Leiche stolpert und unbeabsichtigt den Schwarzgeldkoffer seines Meisters entwendet, überstürzen sich die Ereignisse: An einem einzigen Wochenende verliert er Wohnung, Arbeit, Eltern, Freunde, Geld, Liebe und vielleicht ein Stückchen seines Verstandes – und doch steht am Ende dieser halsbrecherischen Jagd eine neue, ungeahnte Freiheit… Martin Lechner ist ein turbulentes, atemloses Romandebüt gelungen, das Provinzkomödie mit literarischer Virtuosität verbindet. Longlist Deutscher Buchpreis 2014