Homepage / Tanja Traxler

Tanja Traxler

born 1985, studied physics and philosophy at the University of Vienna and the University of California/Santa Cruz. She has been a science editor at the Austrian daily broadsheet Der Standard since 2015 and was bestowed the Austrian sponsorship award for scientific journalism in 2018. Working with David Rennert, she co-authored the book "Lise Meitner – Pionierin des Atomzeitalters", which was named 2019 scientific book of the year (natural sciences category). Her most recent publication, "Die Chemie stimmt!", was co-authored with Nuno Maulide.

Books

Coverabbildung von ""

Nuno Maulide Tanja Traxler - The chemistry is right!

A journey through the world of molecules

Is chemistry better than its reputation? When it comes to dealing with humankind's big challenges, chemistry is the key discipline. Award-winning chemist Nuno Maulide and physicist Tanja Traxler embark on a captivating journey into the fascinating world of syntheses, bonds and reactions. Entertaining and vivid, the authors describe how chemistry influences our everyday life. They discuss chemical approaches to solving global problems such as climate change, food security for Earth's growing population and waste production. For what is chemistry, after all? It is the science of ourselves, nature and the entire universe.

Coverabbildung von "Lise Meitner"

David Rennert Tanja Traxler - Lise Meitner

For Albert Einstein she was “our Madame Curie”, for the Nazis an unwanted Jew and for the tabloid press “the mother of the atom bomb”. Only the second woman to receive a doctorate in physics, Lise Meitner graduated from the University of Vienna in 1906 and established herself in the male dominated science community. In 1938 she fled from the National Socialists and settled in Sweden, where she achieved her big breakthrough together with Otto Frisch: the discovery of the principle of nuclear fission. But the Nobel Prize she deserved eluded her. She spent the final years of her life in Cambridge. The authors paint a portrait of Meitner’s life against the backdrop of the rapid progress of nuclear physics and the great catastrophes of the 20th century, and provide new insights in the world of this unique scientist.

Home / Autoren / Tanja Traxler

Tanja Traxler

geboren 1985, studierte Physik und Philosophie an der Universität Wien und an der University of California/Santa Cruz. Seit 2015 ist sie Wissenschaftsredakteurin bei „Der Standard“. 2018 wurde sie mit dem Österreichischen Förderpreis für Wissenschaftspublizistik ausgezeichnet. Zusammen mit David Rennert hat sie das Buch „Lise Meitner – Pionierin des Atomzeitalters“ (Wissenschaftsbuch des Jahres 2019, Kategorie Naturwissenschaft) geschrieben. Zuletzt gemeinsam mit Nuno Maulide "Die Chemie stimmt! Eine Reise durch die Welt der Moleküle".

Bücher

Coverabbildung von ""

Nuno Maulide Tanja Traxler - Die Chemie stimmt!

Eine Reise durch die Welt der Moleküle

Ist die Chemie besser als ihr Ruf? Sie ist die Schlüsseldisziplin, wenn es um die Lösung der großen Herausforderungen der Menschheit geht. In diesem Buch unternehmen der preisgekrönte Chemiker Nuno Maulide und die Physikerin Tanja Traxler eine packende Reise in die faszinierende Welt der Synthesen, Bindungen und Reaktionen. Unterhaltsam und lebensnah schildern die Autoren, wie Chemie unseren Alltag beeinflusst. Sie diskutieren chemische Lösungsansätze für globale Probleme wie Klimawandel, Ernährungssicherheit der wachsenden Weltbevölkerung und Müllproduktion. Denn was ist Chemie eigentlich? Es ist die Wissenschaft von uns selbst, der Natur und dem ganzen Universum.

Coverabbildung von "Lise Meitner"

David Rennert Tanja Traxler - Lise Meitner

Pionierin des Atomzeitalters

Lise Meitner war eine der brillantesten Physikerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Albert Einstein galt sie als „unsere Madame Curie“, den Nazis als unerwünschte Jüdin, der Boulevardpresse als „Mutter der Atombombe“. Vor den Nationalsozialisten floh Meitner 1938 nach Schweden, wo ihr zusammen mit Otto Robert Frisch ihr größter Durchbruch gelang: die Entdeckung des Prinzips der Kernspaltung. Nach den Atombomben-Abwürfen in Japan kritisierte sie jedoch bis an das Lebensende die militärische Nutzung ihrer Entdeckung. Anhand bisher unveröffentlichtem Archivmaterial zeichnet dieses Buch die unglaubliche Geschichte einer Frau nach, die sich gegen soziale und politische Widerstände durchsetzte.