Homepage / David Rennert
David Rennert

David Rennert

Born in 1984, Rennert studied political sciences at the University of Vienna and is a science editor at the Austrian daily broadsheet ?Der Standard?. In collaboration with Tanja Traxler, he co-authored ?Lise Meitner ? Pionierin des Atomzeitalters?, which was named 2019 scientific book of the year (natural sciences category). Most recently published by Residenz Verlag: ?Der Oslo Report? (2021).

Books

Coverabbildung von 'Der Oslo-Report'

David Rennert - THE OSLO REPORT

How a German physicist revealed the Nazi's secret plans

In 1939, eight weeks after Nazi Germany invaded Poland, two letters arrived at the British embassy in Oslo. Penned by an anonymous sender, the letters described new German weapons systems and outlined the aims of the Wehrmacht's military research programmes. The British secret service feared targeted deception, but a young secret service officer recognised the information as largely accurate and realised it could be used to the advantage of the allies. But who wrote the "Oslo Report"? Hans Ferdinand Mayer, the author of the documents, remains largely unknown to this day. He risked everything and only narrowly escaped death in a concentration camp. In this book, David Rennert traces the astonishing story of the Oslo Report.

Coverabbildung von 'Lise Meitner'

David Rennert Tanja Traxler - Lise Meitner

Pionierin des Atomzeitalters

For Albert Einstein she was ?our Madame Curie?, for the Nazis an unwanted Jew and for the tabloid press ?the mother of the atom bomb?. Only the second woman to receive a doctorate in physics, Lise Meitner graduated from the University of Vienna in 1906 and established herself in the male dominated science community. In 1938 she fled from the National Socialists and settled in Sweden, where she achieved her big breakthrough together with Otto Frisch: the discovery of the principle of nuclear fission. But the Nobel Prize she deserved eluded her. She spent the final years of her life in Cambridge. The authors paint a portrait of Meitner?s life against the backdrop of the rapid progress of nuclear physics and the great catastrophes of the 20th century, and provide new insights in the world of this unique scientist.

Home / Autor*innen / David Rennert
David Rennert

David Rennert

geboren 1984, studierte Politikwissenschaft und Geschichte an der Universität Wien und ist Wissenschaftsredakteur bei „Der Standard“. Er hat gemeinsam mit Tanja Traxler das Buch „Lise Meitner - Pionierin des Atomzeitalters“ (Wissenschaftsbuch des Jahres 2019) verfasst. Zuletzt im Residenz Verlag erschienen „Der Oslo-Report" (2021).

Alle Veranstaltungen

Bücher

Coverabbildung von 'Der Oslo-Report'

David Rennert - Der Oslo-Report

Wie ein deutscher Physiker die geheimen Pläne der Nazis verriet

Acht Wochen nach dem Überfall Nazideutschlands auf Polen 1939 gingen zwei Briefe in der britischen Botschaft in Oslo ein. Der anonyme Verfasser beschrieb neue deutsche Waffensysteme und umriss die Ziele militärischer Forschungsprogramme der Wehrmacht. Der britische Geheimdienst fürchtete gezielte Desinformation. Doch ein junger Geheimdienstoffizier erkannte, dass die Informationen größtenteils zutreffend waren – und zum Vorteil der Alliierten genutzt werden konnten. Aber wer hatte den „Oslo-Report“ geschrieben? Bis heute ist Hans Ferdinand Mayer, der Verfasser des Dokuments, kaum bekannt. Er riskierte alles und entkam nur knapp dem Tod im KZ. In diesem Buch zeichnet David Rennert die atemberaubende Geschichte des Oslo-Reports nach.

Coverabbildung von 'Lise Meitner'

David Rennert Tanja Traxler - Lise Meitner

Pionierin des Atomzeitalters

Lise Meitner war eine der brillantesten Physikerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Albert Einstein galt sie als „unsere Madame Curie“, den Nazis als unerwünschte Jüdin, der Boulevardpresse als „Mutter der Atombombe“. Vor den Nationalsozialisten floh Meitner 1938 nach Schweden, wo ihr zusammen mit Otto Robert Frisch ihr größter Durchbruch gelang: die Entdeckung des Prinzips der Kernspaltung. Nach den Atombomben-Abwürfen in Japan kritisierte sie jedoch bis an das Lebensende die militärische Nutzung ihrer Entdeckung. Anhand bisher unveröffentlichtem Archivmaterial zeichnet dieses Buch die unglaubliche Geschichte einer Frau nach, die sich gegen soziale und politische Widerstände durchsetzte. Wissenschaftsbuch des Jahres 2019 Kategorie Naturwissenschaft/Technik.