Homepage / Vladimir Vertlib
Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib

born in Leningrad in 1966. His family emigrated to Israel in 1971, then successively moved to Italy, Holland and the US before settling in Austria in 1981. Vertlib studied economics and has lived in Salzburg and Vienna as an author since 1993. His works encompass novels, short stories, essays and articles. In 2001, he received the Adelbert von Chamisso fellowship grant as well as the Anton Wildgans prize. Vertlib's works include the novel 'Lucia Binar und die russische Seele', which was longlisted for the 2015 Deutscher Buchpreis. His novel 'Zebra im Krieg' is published in February 2022.

all events

Books

Coverabbildung von 'Wenn der Jasmin Wurzeln schlägt'

Jad Turjman Karim El-Gawhary (Foreword by) Vladimir Vertlib (Afterword by) - When the Jasmine Puts Down Roots

How I learned to find home within myself

In "When the Jasmine Puts Down Roots", Jad Turjman explains what happened to him after he successfully fled Syria and made a new home in Austria. He reflects on the differences and commonalities between the two cultures, the linguistic gaffes that Syrians learning German can make, and the racism that has sometimes confronted him. Of course, Austrians and their quirks also come under the microscope, and his outsider’s viewpoint is often highly illuminating. Turjman explores how a person can process traumatic events and describes his personal experience of therapy. The follow-up to his bestselling "When the Jasmine Leaves" is multi-layered, humorous and profound.

Coverabbildung von 'Zebra im Krieg'

Vladimir Vertlib - Zebra At War

A novel based on true events

With 'Zebra at War', Vladimir Vertlib has produced a masterful work that casts a wry yet affectionate and empathetic look at the dark side of humanity and politics. Paul Sarianidis lives with his family in an Eastern European seaside town, in a region run down by years of civil war. When he is made redundant, he becomes increasingly embroiled in the vicious debates that rage on social media. One day, Paul is arrested by Boris Lupowitsch, a rebel leader whom he has threatened online. Lupowitsch holds him to account on camera. Paul is mocked and humiliated, and the resulting video is watched by millions. How can he carry on living with the shame?

Home / Autor*innen / Vladimir Vertlib
Vladimir Vertlib

Vladimir Vertlib

geboren 1966 in Leningrad. 1971 emigrierte die Familie nach Israel, dann nach Italien, Holland und die USA, bevor sie sich 1981 in Österreich niederließ. Er studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre und lebt seit 1993 als Schriftsteller in Salzburg und Wien. Sein Werk umfasst Romane, Erzählungen, Essays sowie zahlreiche Artikel. 2001 erhielt er den Adelbert von Chamisso-Förderpreis sowie den Anton Wildgans Preis. Vertlib schrieb u.a. den Roman “Lucia Binar und die russische Seele“, der 2015 auf der Longlist zum Deutschen Buchpreis stand. 2022 erscheint sein Roman "Zebra im Krieg". 

Alle Veranstaltungen

Bücher

Coverabbildung von 'Wenn der Jasmin Wurzeln schlägt'

Jad Turjman Karim El-Gawhary (Vorwort) Vladimir Vertlib (Nachwort) - Wenn der Jasmin Wurzeln schlägt

Wie ich gelernt habe, die Heimat in mir zu finden

Jad Turjman erzählt, wie es ihm erging, nachdem seine Flucht aus Syrien gelang und er in Österreich eine neue Heimat fand. In seiner Reflexion über die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten der Kulturen erzählt Jad Turjman, in welche Fettnäpfchen ein Syrer durch den Mangel an Sprachkenntnissen treten kann und mit welchen Rassismen er konfrontiert ist. Turjman fragt, wie ein Mensch traumatische Ereignisse verarbeiten kann, und beschreibt seine persönlichen Therapieerlebnisse. Das Folgebuch von „Wenn der Jasmin auswandert“ ist vielschichtig, humorvoll und tiefgehend. Nach einem tödlichen Unfall des Autors ist das vorliegende Buch als sein Vermächtnis zu lesen.

Coverabbildung von 'Zebra im Krieg'

Vladimir Vertlib - Zebra im Krieg

Roman nach einer wahren Begebenheit

Mit der Geschichte von Paul Sarianidis gelingt Vladimir Vertlib in „Zebra im Krieg“ ein meisterhaft ironischer, jedoch stets von Zuneigung und Humanität erfüllter Blick in menschliche und politische Abgründe: Paul lebt mit seiner Familie in einer vom Bürgerkrieg heruntergewirtschafteten osteuropäischen Stadt am Meer. Als er arbeitslos wird, verstrickt er sich immer tiefer in die wüsten Debatten, die in den Sozialen Medien toben. Doch eines Tages wird Paul von Boris Lupowitsch, einem Rebellenführer, den er im Internet bedroht hat, verhaftet. Lupowitsch rechnet mit ihm vor laufender Kamera ab. Paul wird verhöhnt und gedemütigt, das Video millionenfach gesehen. Wie kann er mit dieser Schande weiterleben?