Homepage / Alfred Pfoser

Alfred Pfoser

Alfred Pfoser, born 1952 in Wels, studied literature, history and journalism in Salzburg. From 1998 to 2007 he was Director of Vienna Public Libraries, from 2007 to 2016 Director of the printed materials collection and Assistant Director of the Vienna City Library. He has published numerous works on Austrian cultural and literary history. His most recently published book at Residenz Verlag: “Im Epizentrum des Zusammenbruchs. Wien im Ersten Weltkrieg” (2013). His current book, co-authored with Andreas Weigl and published by Residenz Verlag: “Die erste Stunde Null".

 

Books

Coverabbildung von "Meine angebetete Louise"

Otto Wagner Andreas Nierhaus (Edited by) Alfred Pfoser (Edited by) - My beloved Louise!

The Architect's Diary 1915-1918

October 26th 1915 was a fateful day for Vienna's leading architect and city planner. It was the day his wife Louise, 18 years his junior, died of cancer. Wagner had started to keep a diary when Louise was first diagnosed and continued to regularly record his memories of better days and comments on current developments. He intended the diary to be a memorial to is unparalleled love for Louise, yet it also reveals the misanthropic despair of a great artist. He considered himself to be at the peak of his craft and felt a Habsburg victory was close, bringing fresh opportunities to realise his plans. But old age afflictions and the miseries of WW1 took a growing toll on his day-to-day life. Rampant anti-Semitism, suffering and paranoia increasingly defined his thoughts. Three years on, the death of this patriarch coincided with the end of the Habsburg empire.

Coverabbildung von "The first zero hour"

Andreas Weigl Alfred Pfoser - The first zero hour

The founding years of the Austrian Republic 1918-1920

The war had come to an end, the monarchy was in ruins, the Kaiser abdicated. New states were hurriedly formed: one of them called itself the Republic of German-Austria. As yet, no borders had been defined for the new state, there was no constitution to govern the political structure. German-Austria wanted to attach itself to the German Reich, Vorarlberg to Switzerland and a few territories flirted with free-state ideas. At the same time, the founding years of the First Republic were also a great awakening towards modernity. They laid the basis for a social democracy, included women in the political process and brought a new zest for life. The authors provide a panoramic view of the experimental laboratory of a nation’s self-discovery – leading to the birth of the Austrian Republic.

Home / Autoren / Alfred Pfoser

Alfred Pfoser

geboren 1952 in Wels. Studium der Germanistik, Geschichte und Publizistik in Salzburg. 1998 bis 2007 Leiter der Büchereien Wien, von 2007 bis 2016 Leiter der Druckschriftensammlung und stv. Direktor der Wienbibliothek im Rathaus. Zahlreiche Publikationen zur österreichischen Kultur- und Literaturgeschichte. Zuletzt erschienen: „Im Epizentrum des Zusammenbruchs. Wien im Ersten Weltkrieg“ (2013). „Die erste Stunde Null" (2018, zusammen mit Andreas Weigl). Sein aktuelles Buch bei Residenz "Otto Wagner - Meine angebetete Louise" (2019, gemeinsam herausgegeben mit Andreas Nierhaus).

Bücher

Meine angebetete Louise!

Otto Wagner Andreas Nierhaus (Hg.) Alfred Pfoser (Hg.) - Meine angebetete Louise!

Das Tagebuch des Architekten 1915-1918

Der 26. 10. 1915 ist ein Schicksalstag für Otto Wagner. Seine um 18 Jahre jüngere Ehefrau Louise stirbt an Krebs. Schon nach der Diagnose hat der Architekt ein Tagebuch zu führen begonnen, das er regelmäßig mit Erinnerungen an bessere Tage und Notizen über die Gegenwart füllen wird. Es soll seiner unvergleichlichen Liebe zu Louise ein Denkmal setzen. Nebenher enthüllt es die misanthropische Verzweiflung eines großen Künstlers. Er glaubt sich am Höhepunkt seines Schaffens, wittert Habsburgs Sieg und Morgenluft für seine Pläne, während das Alter seinem Körper zusetzt und das Weltkriegselend auch in seinen Alltag einbricht. Krankhafter Antisemitismus, Leid und Paranoia bestimmen mehr und mehr sein Denken. Der Tod eines Patriarchen fällt zusammen mit dem Ende des Habsburgerreichs.

Die erste Stunde Null

Andreas Weigl Alfred Pfoser - Die erste Stunde Null

Gründungsjahre der österreichischen Republik 1918-1922

Der Krieg ging zu Ende, die Monarchie lag in Trümmern, der Kaiser dankte ab. Eilig formten sich neue Staaten: Einer nannte sich Republik Deutschösterreich. Noch standen die Grenzen nicht fest. Es gab keine Verfassung, die die politische Ordnung regelte. Deutschösterreich wollte sich dem Deutschen Reich anschließen, Vorarlberg der Schweiz, und einzelne Bundesländer kokettierten mit Freistaatideen. So fragil die Lage lange Zeit blieb, so waren die Gründungsjahre der Ersten Republik auch ein großer Aufbruch Richtung Moderne. Der junge Staat legte das Fundament für eine soziale Demokratie, beteiligte die Frauen am politischen Leben, brachte neue Freiheiten, setzte Lebenslust und schöpferische Energie frei. Die Autoren zeigen in einem großen Panorama das Versuchslabor einer staatlichen Selbstfindung: der Ersten Republik Österreich.